Foundation Madness!

Hey there! Finally got my internet back, so be expecting a lot of posts from me for the next week!! 

This post is going to be maybe one you’re going to want to rant at me for, but I’m gonna give it a shot anyway!

It’s Summer (whether your weather agrees or not doesn’t matter) and during the summer I, for one, hate wearing too much makeup! That means no foundation. (Barely wear it anyway if i’m honest) 

FoundationWhy do you wear it? Because that’s what everybody starts their makeup with? Because you like the 100% flawless skin look? Because you don’t like the spots on your face? Because your skin pigmentation may be a bit different than others?

NO!!! I used to say literally each of those lines when my mum would nag me about foundation! She would tell me how if i were to find the right moisturiser, I can forget about foundation as the moisturiser can fix all of those things! I hate to admit my mum is ever right, if im honest, but in this case she was. 

You’ve got spotty skin? There are soooo many brands and formulas for that! I personally use brands with witch hazel or teatree oil in it! Literally changed my skin completely! Barely even get a pimple anymore!!

You’ve got red blotches? Again, soo many brands with things to help skin like that. For the day there are green-tinted moisturisers, which help to correct the redness. While, for night time there are night creams with some (magical) ingredients to fix it for you! 

You have freckles? Oh my god, EMBRACE them! Freckles are cute!! 

If you are going to ditch the foundation, but still want coverage, moisturise your face in the morning and leave it to dry (about 5-10 minutes) Next, dab some concealer over the parts you want to cover. Sweep some loose powder over your face and whoala, your natural beauty will shine through! 

I challenge you to go a day without foundation! If you hate it, fair enough. But, you may realise you too don’t need it! Too many girls – and boys are wearing it because… well… everybody else is! 

A nice day cream with a lil bit of blusher can just make you look fab! Nothing prettier than a fresh face! I feel that foundation just washes out your skin’s natural glow – which baffles me, because we then proceed to use a highlighter to try and bring it back?!

Yes, I understand that you may feel uncomfortable in your skin. But, why would you just cover it when you can try and fix it?! Give it a go! 

ANYWAY, enough with this rant! I dare you to go with out foundation – even just a week to give your skin a break! Let it breathe! Love your perfect ‘imperfections‘! 

13 thoughts on “Foundation Madness!

  1. bronzeandblush says:

    I really with I could go without foundation, but my acne is just too much :/ I wore a light coverage BB cream with a setting powder when I went to my last dermatologist appointment and it was so bad. Hopefully this stuff clears up eventually 😦

      • bronzeandblush says:

        Lol I edit my acne and huge pores out of my pictures. Thank you though 🙂 I feel like I’ve tried everything. Cleansers, toners, moisturizers, spot treatments, masks, Clarisonic. I even tried a few different oil methods that everyone swears by and it made everything war worse. I’ve been struggling with acne for about 12 years now.

      • Awk I’m sorry about that! The only thing that I could really suggest is teatree/witch hazel… I think they’re really really great (if you haven’t tried those haha) My boyfriend tried getting actual medication for it though! He went to the doctors and they gave him pills to take for about 3-4 months… his skin is fab now!

      • bronzeandblush says:

        I used with hazel a lot in high school. I recently tea tree oil as a spot treatment which worked WONDERS for my husband. I swear it did nothing for me lol. I’ve been on an antibiotic before which was wonderful and I’m on my second topical (Epiduo). They say that Epiduo can take up to three months and I’ve been using it for about a month now. Purging so bad :/ Thanks for the suggestion and I totally agree that it’s great to go foundation-free when you can 🙂

  2. I really like this post! I love make-up but I think it’s important to remember it’s there to help highlight your natural beauty. As well I think far too many girls are insecure about how they look and the beauty industry (much as I love them) plays on that a lot.

    Thanks, I enjoyed this. 🙂

    Lauren x

  3. Yeah, I know it’s all about finding the right moisturiser/treatment for your skin (as frustrating as that can be) Literally, I’ve tried so many things.. I recall actually trying baking soda and cream on my spots a few times!! I wish you the best of luck with your Epiduo! Hope you feel comfortable in your skin soon enough! 🙂

Leave a Reply

