Drugstore Foundation Review:

So I thought, after much avoidance over the past year, that it’s about time I looked into foundations. No, not because I need it, but because I love makeup and I love trying different things. I love comparing cheaper makeup to help myself, my friends and you guys (Not that you aren’t my friends!) know which brands do the best! 

I’ve looked into eyeshadows finding dupes, looked into blushers and face powders too! So, when I saw all the sales in boots recently, I thought that now is better than anytime to pick these foundations up (even a little cheaper) than any! 

So after giving each foundation a few uses, I will now tell you about my experiences with them, what I think and whether I recommend them to you or not. 

May I just say also, that me being a ‘cheapskate’ means that literally every penny better be worth it or i’ll not be happy! 

So, enough of the bla bla bla and on with the actual content! 

So in the past 2-3 weeks I picked up 4 new foundations and I will also be telling you about 2 others that I have previously purchased.

So, here are the 6 foundations:

WP_20140831_003 (1)

Left > Right

Rimmel London Wake Me up ~ IVORY £8.99

Rimmel London Match Perfection ~ LIGHT PORCELAIN £6.99

Maybelline New York Dream Satin Liquid ~ LIGHT PORCELAIN £7.99

Maybelline New York Dream Matte Mousse ~ LIGHT PORCELAIN £7.69

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation ~ LIGHT VANILLA £9.99

L’oreal Paris True Match ~ ROSE IVORY £9.99

Looking at this you can probably tell i’m a pale/pasty chica! You are indeed correct. If like me, you’re pale, you assumingly also find it so frustrating going foundation shopping because NO brands consider the paler girls (or the darker skinned girls either!)

So i’ll start left and move along the line. 

Firstly is the Rimmel London Wake Me Up foundation. This is a really weird one. As you can see it is the darkest of the foundations. I have this in the lightest shade, ‘Ivory’, yet this is still pretty damn dark. (As you can see below.) The last time I used this though, I found that it blends in very well and it doesn’t appear darker than your skintone at all?! Soooo odd! 

A slight fault … or advantage, depending on how you look at it is, under artificial light, it looks like you have painted your face with glitter. I remember in English class last year, the guy beside me said… “You have glitter all over your face… do you know?” He was right too! It just looks like specks of glitter have been added to your skin. NOT CUTE!! However, in the sun light it gives a beautiful glow to your skin! Appropriate for the Summer, but I’m avoiding this one over winter/ autumn.

WP_20140831_005 WP_20140831_006

 

Next is Rimmel London Match Perfection foundation. This is beautiful. Really really great. I got this on sale for £5 in boots as a lot of their Rimmel products were reduced, so I couldn’t help but add it to my basket. And holy smokes, am I glad that I did?!?! (yes) This is definitely a makeup bag essential. You have your moisturiser applied, let it sink in and then you apply this and it will melt into your skin. Blends beautifully and matches your skin 100%. I love how this feels on my skin – light, barely a trace of it! It gives pretty good coverage, which is buildable too! I like to dust over some powder just to set this foundation. It gives a beautiful radiant-finish to your skin that seriously is like a higher-end product.  This foundation stays for quite a long time, i’m not overly sure about ‘all day’, but it definitely stays a good while! I much prefer this one to its cousin, wake me up, because it is just so natural looking. Not cakey, no streaks, your skin – but better!

WP_20140831_007 WP_20140831_008

 

Dream Satin Liquid –  is next. This one i’m having a love-hate relationship with. I found that you reallllly need to moisturise before applying this to give the foundation something to hold-on-to. It applies with perfection onc e your moisturiser has set. it blends in beautifully, you just need patience. This looks as though it will be too dark for my skin, but i’ve found that with blending, blending and a bit more blending that you will have your skin, but better. This stays at least 16 hours. definitely on all day. However, if you can’t be bothered with taking the time to blend it (i’m not judging, you may be in a rush!) then this really isn’t the foundation for you. It has a light-finish, but only when you blend it properly. If you justr apply it with your fingers and don’t buff it out with a stippling brush, you may have a cakey finish. I like to get about 3/4 of a pump of the product, rub onto my face using my warm fingers and then once it has almost set, I then get the stippling brush and buff it in. It takes about 2 minutes to apply this way, which may seem like no time… but it does in the morning! (does that make sense?) I do recommend this one, but only if you have the patience! 😛 

WP_20140831_011

Maybelline New York – Dream Matte Mousse is a product that has been rated, reviewed and raved for years now. This is perfect for oily skin. PERFECT. If you have dry skin this is basically like trying to put clay on your face. It looks terrible when I go through my dry skin phases. I avoid this during the winter. However, on days I want my skin to look flawless, this is the one I reach for. I personally use my fingers to apply this, I’ve found that with a brush or a sponge this just comes off the skin… it’s not liquid so it can’t really be buffed into the skin? The warmth of your fingers going in a circular motion will blend this one in. If you have large pores, may I add, I’d recommend to avoid this product! I have larger pores around my nose which are just emphasised any time I have this applied. So basically this can be a hit or a miss for you. Also, a little bit goes a very long way with this one. A primer/ moisturiser is essential for this though, or else it will just rub off within an hour! Personally, it is a bit too much coverage for me on a daily basis, but on days you want to look flawless it is a nice one. 

WP_20140831_012

Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation So this is one that has also been raved about in the beauty world. FINALLY I picked it up. This was actually the first one of the 4 that I bought (recently.) This is perfect. The smell. The texture. The application. The finish. The lasting. I don’t even care that this is a tenner. This is amazing. Applies smoothly and with minimal effort. This comes in a few shades, AND with one that is pale enough for me too! There isn’t much to say about this one, other than, i 100% recommend it. Whether you have oily, dry or normal skin. If you have oily skin just dust over powder. This lasts all day and has buildable coverage. Beautiful. 

WP_20140831_013 WP_20140831_014

FINALLY, L’oreal Paris True Match, if you are at all interested in beauty, you have almost certainly heard of this one. Everyone loves it. EVERYONE. So I had to give it a go. First impressions? Very high coverage… I did however give it a few goes. It has a very liquidy solution when you pump it out, but when you apply it to your face and blend it in I found that it has a liquid to powder finish. I don’t realllllly know if i like that. I gave it a few more shots and I found that the reason I wasn’t so keen on it is because the coverage is so high. So I used half a pump and blended it in. Perfection. I love it now! Haha! If at first you don’t succeed…. yenno… try it again and again and again! It does give a pretty flawless-finish, but also not cakey! I love it… okay.. I like it a lot! I do recommend though, for any skin types! Also I’m glad that there is finally a drugstore brand that has enough skin tones! Whether you are very pale, or very dark, there’s likely to be a tone that matches you!

WP_20140831_015 WP_20140831_016

So, have you tried any of these products? What do you think of them? Have you any drugstore ones that you recommend to me? I’d love to know your suggestions/ recommendations. 

Also, if you have any questions about the products i used, please, don’t hesitate to ask! (I’m friendly… I swerrrr) 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Drugstore Foundation Review:

Leave a Reply

