1 good 1 bad: Maybelline New york.

So over the past week I have been posting about my ‘top 5’ favourite products of 2014. I feel as though there are some that deserve the spotlight though! However, there were some that I had tried out that were just disappointing. I thought it would be interesting to go through each brand that I love – Maybelline, Soap & Glory, Rimmel London, Seventeen etc. So, I suppose that will be what i’ll be posting about for the next couple of posts!

If you have been reading my blog for long enough, you’ll know that I am a fan of Maybelline’s mascaras. I absolutely adored the ‘falsies flared’ mascara and used it all of 2013 and a bit of 2014. However, when I saw Maybelline doing a 3 for 2 I decided it was time for me to try some new ones! I have tried 5-6 different Maybelline mascaras and I can honestly tell you that they are each brilliant in their own way. There are some that I like for certain looks, one that I like to use for just my lower lashes and some that I like for everyday use. I am yet to be full-on disappointed with a Maybelline mascara and no doubt, I will be telling you about it if I find one!

The mascara that I’m talking about is the beautiful Maybelline – the volum’ express colossal smokey Mascara. This one costs £7.99. This gives my lashes beautiful volume and length. No clumps either! I wear this one for a natural everyday look using one coat. For a more dramatic look, this one can be used layered up. Brilliant product! A makeup bag must-have.

HOWEVER, Maybelline isn’t 100% in everything. I bought Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Mascara and found nothing but disappointment. When in boots I was recommended this one by a sales woman and she told me it was just as good as the Benefit brow products that I had previously tried. This costed £4.99, I know it’s not that expensive, but still – a waste of money! I didn’t like the formula and found that unlike the benefit brow product that it didn’t thicken my brows up, didn’t fill them in and just gave them a weird tint. Disappointing that it didn’t even match my brow colour. ALSO, I find that this one clumps and it is not cute to have clumped eyebrows. Big disappointment, Maybelline. However, maybelline does a nice brow pencil called ‘mastershape’.

10160728 maybelline-volum-express-the-colossal-smoky-eyes-mascara

Hope you enjoyed reading!

Stephanie x

Leave a Reply

