My Top 5: Foundation

So foundation is another staple in many girls’ makeup bags. Whether your skin is dry, acne prone or oily, there’s a foundation made for your skin type! But, I think that, foundation is one of the hardest of makeup products to shop for. Not only are you looking for your skin type, but you’re also looking for one that matches your skin tone. Let’s face it, not many of us want to look like an oompa-loompa or a ghost!

So, here are my top 5 picks. Please note, I have normal, pale skin. So if you have either oily or dry skin you might find any one of these products isn’t for you!

All

Dream Satin Liquid

Maybelline New York – Dream Satin Liquid £7.99

So maybelline is one of my favourite drugstore brands. However there is one disappointing part about Maybelline – their range of shades in foundation. I, being very pale, can only really wear their foundations in the Summer. I’m in the shade 04 Light porcelain. The formula of this is quite thick, but blends in so beautifully. You aren’t left with cakey skin, but a nice satin finish. Personally, I like to finish my face off with a coat of powder just to help this to stay on the face longer.

True Match

L’oreal Paris – the foundation True Match £9.99

If you’re looking for a quality foundation, this is the one. It is so liquidy and blends right into your skin, leaving a very natural flawless finish. Unlike Maybelline, L’oreal provide 23 different shades to choose from. This is a non-greasy finish, I wouldn’t even use powder to set it. This does a good job at covering redness and dark circles, so I don’t fin that concealer is necessary when using this!

Fit Me

Maybelline New York – Fit Me Anti-Shine Stick £8.99

Again with the shades, Maybelline, 6 simply isn’t enough! But, nonetheless, I picked it up anyway. However, this is a good product for me. It is a sheer coverage that, in a way, adapts to my skin colour. It goes on smoothly and doesn’t take much. It covers up the uneven tone. This is perfect for your handbag also as all you need is your fingertips to blend it out! I wouldn’t use this for everyday use, but it id definitely one that stays in my handbag/travel bag.

Rimmel Match Perfection

Rimmel London – Match Perfection £6.99

So i’m not that big of a fan of Rimmel products, but their face products are complete winners! 10 different shades to choose from means that there is one pale enough for me! I have this in 010 Light porcelain. I find that this formula blends into my skin perfectly. I use half a pump and it covers my whole face. I use a stippling brush to buff this in. It blends in so easily and just leaves your skin with a lovely glow. This would be a light- medium coverage. I do recommend setting this with powder though!

Lasting Perfection

Collection – Lasting Perfection £5.99

So everybody knows about the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer. Knowing this, I couldn’t help but pick up the foundation. This is a very high coverage foundation. It leaves your skin with a matte finish. This only comes in 6 shades, so it is a little bit dark on me, but when I set it with a light powder i feel it matches me OK.. This is very thick, so if you’re looking a lighter look, you could mix it with a bit of moisturiser! But, this stays on all day and leaves your skin looking flawless!

Here are swatches from each foundation:

All labelled swatched

I know some of them really look too dark for me, but this is the product alone, I find when blended they suit my skin just fine! 🙂

Hope you enjoyed reading!

Stephanie x

9 thoughts on “My Top 5: Foundation

Leave a Reply

