My top 5: Brushes

So you have all the products that you love to use to make you feel you’re looking your best. But there is one huge factor that you might be overlooking: Makeup brushes.  Just like any other task, having the right tools for the job make the finished product look that little bit better. There are many benefits to using brushes instead of your fingers to apply makeup. You’ll get a much more even coverage using a brush, and a better polished finish. It’s also more sanitary to use a brush, and this is especially important for acne-prone skin as it will help you prevent breakouts on your face. Just remember to wash your brushes frequently to remove dirt and buildup from the bristles. Most brushes can be washed with baby shampoo and warm water, but check packaging instruction for best results.

All

Obviously there are hundreds of makeup brushes to choose from. I honestly haven’t tried that many, but here are my top 5:

Real Techniques Powder brush

Real Techniques: Powder brush 1401 £12.99

It is very soft and stays that way, even after several years of use and washing. It has never shed a single hair the whole time. The quality is just as good today as it was when I bought it a few years ago. It is quite a bit larger,and more dense, than many other powder brushes (which is good because I’ve always found them slightly too small). It’s just the right size for all over face powder. It buffs very lightly due to how soft it is which gives a really soft-focused, natural look.Overall, the quality is very high, the price is reasonable and the effect is just what I want out of a powder brush. Only downside would be the rather large base of the handle. This is the most expensive of my brushes as I haven’t found a cheaper dupe.

Tapered Stippling brush

Tapered stippling brush £0.54

So I purchased 10 stippling/kabuki brushes online a while back. They are such brilliant quality. I will give the link at the end of this post for the brushes. I use this brush to apply highlighter and contour. it gives you such a precise finish and is very easy to use for blending things in.

Stippling flat top

Stippling kabuki brush £0.54

I use this every day for blending in your foundation. It gives you such a flawless finish. Your skin never looks cakey after using this! I have previously purchased Real Technique’s stippling brush and I am telling you now, this is 100x better! It is also a crazy amount cheaper.

Fluffy Blending MUA E3

MUA E3 blending and shadow brush £1.95

This is perfect for finishing off your shadow looks. This blends it into the perfect smokey eye! I’ve used a few different blending brushes before, but this is by far my favourite. It is so lovely and soft, it’s dense, but not too dense and it picks up just the right amount of product. I actually bought 2 of these brushes – 1 to keep clean and blend out your looks & 2 to apply shadows.

Small stippling brush

Small Stippling brush £0.54

I have started using this brush a lot more recently. It really is a multi-purpose tool! It can be used for adding concealer, blending out shadows and a few other things too! It is very fluffy, blends things in like a dream and is easy to control also.

Flast Shadow Brusheee

Flat Eyeshadow brush £3.50

So I bought this one in a big 32 brush set. Flat shadow brushes are perfect for applying your eyeshadow. I use this for a base layer shadow applier. This can also be used to apply concealer. I use this to apply either powder or cream eyeshadows.

So here are the 2 links

For the kabuki set

For the 32 PCS set

So are there any makeup brushes that you like? I’d love to know!

If you’d like to catch up on my other Top 5 posts, here they are:

Stephanie x

6 thoughts on “My top 5: Brushes

  1. Tarika says:

    I love Real Techniques too ❤ Such good value brushes. I would really recommend the Ecotools range – super soft and really great brushes for pretty good prices x

Leave a Reply

