My Summer Picks!

So I think it’s (almost) safe to say that Summer has officially arrived in the UK! So, just like how fashion changes in the Summer season, so does the makeup! I’ve actually noticed a big change in my makeup bag this year, so I thought i’d share with you what my Summer Essentials are!

all

So there are 9 biggies this year! I’ll start off with the face products:

face

Soap & Glory Solar Powder, Rimmel London Match Perfection & Revolution Ultra Blush Palette

Rimmel London Match Perfection foundation Light Porcelain £6.99

Having really fair skin makes it hard for me to find foundations, but 010 porcelain is perfect for me. It’s a medium coverage, natural looking foundation great for everyday. This glides onto the skin so perfectly and just sinks in, leaving such a flawless, natural finish. I  apply this with either my fingers or a stippling brush.

inside face

Soap & Glory Solar Powder £11

This little duo has been a favourite of mine since like 2012! It gives an all over colour which is not too dark and no orange tints at all! If you have paler skin, like myself, this is much better suited for you. It has a more gray undertone than orange, so the matte bronzer(/contour) is perfect for a nice contour on pale skin. The highlight side of this is so subtle. It is the least in-your-face highlighter that i’ve ever used. So, you can use this duo for 3 different things – contouring, highlighting & swish your brush all over the product and you have the perfect bronzer. This one is definitely worth the money! However, the packaging is quite flimsy, so if you’re rough with it, it is likely to tear apart.

Makeup Revolution Ultra Blush Palette Sugar & Spice £6

To start this off, let me just say for £6 this is an absolute steal! You get 2 highly pigmented highlighters, 1 highly pigmented contour and 5 highly pigmented blushers! They also can mix well together to create your own custom blusher! Personally, I use the orangey blusher and the light pink above it together to create a nice coral shade, perfect for the Summer! The white-ish highlighter is also one that I reach for when I want a glow on my face. Aaaaand the second colour on the top row can be used as a contour because of its brownish undertones!

eyes

Catrice Cosmetics Eyebrow Set (£5)

So I bought this when I was in Ireland 2 years ago and have been using it almost every day since! I think powder is much better for the brows in the summer months because I’d be way too nervous applying a cream/gel/pencil and it smearing down my face because of the heat! So, this 2 toned brow powder is again in my makeup bag! Can’t really remember the price of this one, but it was around the £4-£5 mark.

17 Wild Metallics Eyes WILD NUDE

Seventeen Wild Metallics Eyes WILD NUDE £3.99

I had never used cream eye shadows before so I bought this, about 2 years ago, on a whim and I am glad I did. It goes on easily and looks really professional (like you’ve spent ages doing your eyes) in a couple of sweeps.I tend to dust over some powder on top of this, after it has been applied, to set it & it will stay day to night! The Wild Nude is a brilliant colour – a metallic golden brown that looks great with very little effort , blends easily. I find this easier to apply than the Maybelline colour tattoo cream shadows. Also, this is perfect on its own and also works well as an eyeshadow base!

Big Eyes Lower Lash Big Eyes Upper Lash

Maybelline New York Big Eyes mascara  £8.99 

I’ve really started to love this product. The upper lashes (2nd image) wand creates such length on lashes (read here for mascara review & picture of lashes). Meanwhile the lower lashes brush is tiny and I would apply it to the roots of my lower lashes to produce a more open-eye finish. This is really brilliant for summer because you don’t need too much of the product to create statement eyes!

Collection EXTREME 24 hour felt tip liner

Collection Extreme 24 hour Felt Tip Liner £2.99

I didn’t like this at first. But, now I love it. Hmmm. This stays all day, there’s no doubt in that, just try not to get around your eyes wet during the day, because it will smear! I find if you put powder beneath it, this kind of prevents this from happening! But, easy to apply, perfect black liner & for £2.99 there’s not much complaining.

Lipstick

Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipstick 08 £5.49

The perfect nude. This applies so nicely and sinks in within about 10 minutes. It stays for quite a while on the lips too! If you’d like to read the full review then click here but, all I can say is, for the perfect nude, Rimmel have done it!

The Body Shop Pomegranet Lip Balm

The Body Shop Lip Balm in Pomegranate £3

So for the days where you just want a little hint of colour on your lips, the Body Shop has made the perfect thing for you! All of their tinted lip balms are so lovely and their smell/taste is to die for! I also find these quite moisturising too, so it’s a double win!

So those are my favourite Summer products! Are there any that you really love? Hope you enjoyed the post & are having a brill day!

Stephanie x

3 thoughts on “My Summer Picks!

Leave a Reply

