Liquid Lipsticks: My thoughts

So recently liquid lipstick have been becoming more popular in budget beauty brands, so I couldn’t help but pick a few up from different brands and give them a try! Superdrug is currently doing 3 for 2 across all makeup brands whilst Boots are doing a few different offers, including 3 for 2 on specific brands or money off products – including liquid lipsticks!

I’ve tried a few different liquid lipsticks over the past few years but have only recently found some that i’ve thought much of. I’ve tried from brands such as Collection, MUA, Revolution, Sleek, Maybelline and Bourjois. Some I have thrown out because I just didn’t get along with though, so can’t do swatches for all. I can give a short review on those that I don’t have anymore though!

IMG_9216

L>R

Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid 35 Rebel Red, 50 Nude Thrill, MUA Whipped Velvet Rococo, Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lacquer Black Heart, Sleek Matte Me 436 Birthday Suit, Bourjois Rouge Edition 15 Red-volution, 07 Nude-ist.

Collection Cream Puff Lip Cream: Powder Puff & Fairy Cake

This was the first liquid lippie that I bought, for £2.99. I got this like 2+ years ago, before liquid lipsticks had become a thing in Boots/Superdrug. I didn’t really understand how to use these nor how to wear them, so I quickly lost interest as I was more into moisturising lipsticks at the time, not these matte liquid ones. I do remember though that these smelt nice and that I liked the colour of Powder Puff a lot, it was a soft nude. Unfortunately I must have thrown these out though as I can’t find them anywhere in my collection. Perhaps I’ll repurchase, but perhaps not also as i’ve found some really brilliant ones from other brands and this was just OK.

IMG_9221

MUA Whipped Velvet: Rococo

The price of this was £3. I think i’ve even done a review about this before on my page, saying how disappointed I was with it. It was the 2nd liquid lipstick that I had bought, so after that I had low expectations of liquid lipsticks, discouraging me from trying more. This is so strange. It has a horrible sickly sweet smell mixed with the baby powder scent??? The colour of this is nice, a soft pink pastel colour, but because the product itself is so creamy and powdery – like a matte foundation almost, but more liquidy – it doesn’t apply smoothly, but with horrible streaks. Doubt this stays a long time either – if you somehow manage to apply it nicely. All-in-all, a complete miss from MUA. This is the product at the top of the photograph.

Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lacquer: Black Heart 

This one was also sold for £3. This was the 3rd lacquer that I had tried and again I was disappointed – not going well! I tried this January time in the shade Black Heart. When I was swatching the different lippies in the shop there were samples for all shades except this one. I liked the one a shade lighter than this one, but I thought I could go for the darker one because there aren’t many drugstore options for dark ones. The smell of this is horrible. A really chemical smelling one, kinda like pen ink/ hair dye??? I mixed this with lipbalm to try and sheer it out a bit because I like the colour, it’s just way too intense for moi. When I did it was nice, but slipped and slid about way too much. It also goes very flaky when you apply just a little bit and smudge it out. Not what I was expecting from a liquid liner unfortunately. I may try more of these from this brand though, just in a more wearable shade. This is the product at the bottom of the photograph.

IMG_9219

Sleek Matte Me: 436 Birthday Suit

After the disappointing 3, named above, I was in Tesco in March and there was a sleek counter. This was around the time that more brands were releasing their own matte lip creams, so I thought i’d give it a try for £4.99. A neutral nude shade, so what could go wrong? Absolutely nothing, I really loved this. It is the perfect nude with a brown undertone to it. It’s a Kylie Jenner kinda colour. This applies easily and dries matte. This stays on all day, maybe 1 or 2 touch ups, but only if you’re rubbing your lips or whatever. This stays on with eating, drinking and there’s no transfer when kissing either! It does have that dried feeling on your lips, but you get used to this pretty quickly. V good product!

IMG_9218

Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid Lipstick: 50 Nude Thrill & 35 Vivid Red

50: I’ve found the lipstick that i’ve been looking for for years! This is my lips but better. Finally. I’ve only had this a day, so haven’t been able to wear it a full day yet, but it has a nice satin finish – not matte. I’ve found though, dabbing it with a tissue makes it dry matte, if this is what you prefer. I’ve read reviews saying that this does stay on 8-12 hours with no reapplication, so hopefully! If not, it’s a nude shade, so not a big deal if it does go a bit patchy. I think that this will quickly become my ‘go-to’ lipstick when I don’t want to wear a bold one. Gorgeous shade that I recommend to all! 35: This is a nice true-red lipstick. It’s easy to apply and gives you a strong, bold lip. Really beautiful shade and I look forward to wearing this with a strong winged liner. These cost £6.99. As seen in the photograph, this applicator is a stretched out doe foot applicator.

IMG_9220

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet: 07 Nude-ist & 15 Red-volution 

I wore 15 Red-volution last night when out at a bar with friends. This involved eating and drinking and it stayed on all night. Annoyed the hell out of my boyfriend as I kept asking if it had worn off, but it seemed to stay on all night! I reapplied it once, after I’d eaten a burger, but it didn’t really need it. This is a gorgeous berry red with blue undertones. This was £8.99, which is a bit pricey, but for such a lovely product! Haven’t tried 07 yet, but it’s a nice nude with a more pinky tone to it. This wore more comfortably than the sleek liquid lippie also. This is a doe foot applicator, which makes applying it with no mirror a bit easier!

Swatches:

IMG_9217

L>R

Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid 35 Rebel Red, 50 Nude Thrill, MUA Whipped Velvet Rococo, Makeup Revolution Salvation Velvet Lacquer Black Heart, Sleek Matte Me 436 Birthday Suit, Bourjois Rouge Edition 15 Red-volution, 07 Nude-ist.

So I hope you enjoyed this post and i’d love to know what you think of liquid lippies! Have you tried any brands that I haven’t Any that you do/don’t recommend? Leave a comment! 🙂

Stephanie x

 

 

6 thoughts on “Liquid Lipsticks: My thoughts

  1. I love a liquid lipstick, I recently tried one by Revolution but didn’t like it because my lips felt “furry” after 4 hours. My favourite is from the Cream Puff by Collection (I’ve also reviewed on the blog), it’s a perfect non drying formula x

Leave a Reply

