A trip to Boots & First Impressions…

Ah, once again i’ve visited the local makeup shop and once again I have bought more makeup. One of these makeup items I was given for my Birthday though, so it’s not like I went completely over the top… Plus as this is my birthday month I get extra points any time I buy something in Boots… Anyway, Lemmie show ya what I got!

IMG_9241

  • Benefit: Ultra Plush Lipgloss – Fauxmance
  • Maybelline: Fit Me Matte + Poreless – 105
  • Sleek: i-Divine – Enchanted Forest 
  • Benefit: Gimme Brow – Shade 1
  • Bourjois: Rouge Edition Velvet – 17 Cool Brown
  • Maybelline: Colour Tattoo – 91 Creme de Rose

So i’ll start from the top then!

IMG_9234

Benefit: Ultra Plush Lipgloss – Fauxmance £14.50

So this was the lovely lovely lipgloss that I was given for my Birthday. I had tried Benefit lipgloss with the Dandelion product and absolutely loved it. This is the perfect consistency for me! I love how it isn’t sticky but also not oily. This tastes like grapefruit and has such a lovely colour to it. I like to dab this onto my lips and then blend it in using my finger. Hoping this tube lasts me ages because i’m just in love!

IMG_9235

Maybelline: Fit Me Matte + Poreless – 105 £5.99

Finally, a foundation that is from a trustworthy brand that isn’t a rip off! I’ve noticed recently that lots of brands have been increasing the prices of their concealers and foundations… I thought it was supposed to be highstreet products for highstreet prices?! Apparently not for many brands. I imagine this one is a bit cheaper as it is in a squeezy tube as opposed to a glass bottle. I don’t mind a glass bottle because I like that the pump gives you a good amount of product whereas you have to ‘eye’ it with a squeezy one. However once you are coming to the last of your product in a glass bottle it’s impossible to get it out, unlike a squeezy one where you can cut off the end and get the remainder of product! -Or maybe am I going overboard on the cheapskate? ANYWAY. That’s what I thought of the packaging… But what about the product? This is way more liquidy than any other matte foundation i’ve used, which made it much easier to blend without going all cakey around my nose and forehead. The colour matches my skin really nicely and i’d say it leaves a satin-finish moreso than a matte one. Honestly though, i much prefer that to completely matte because it looks way more natural. 8/8 Maybelline! I will likely be repurchasing this one as it is a good price and a good product! I’ve noticed recently that I don’t actually like a lot of the foundations that I have because i find they go quite cakey on my skin, so I might do a post about my foundations and whether or not I recommend them?

Sleek: i-Divine – Enchanted Forest £8.99

So this was actually what I was looking for when I went to Boots, but of course I couldn’t resist from all the other deals going on! I was looking specifically for a maroon shade eyeshadow, one that would look beauttt in my crease. I’ve heard many amazing things about Sleek eyeshadow palettes, but when brands like Makeup Revolution and MUA do palettes as cheap as £4, i’m more likely to reach for them. But, neither of these brands were doing the shade that I was looking for, so I looked at the Sleek stall. This palette has deep shades of colours not typically seen in your everyday shadow palette. I’m really pleased that I picked this up however as I can definitely see myself making use of these. The shade ‘Anastasia‘ ( 2nd row, 4th across) is the one that I was looking for – kinda (Still on the hunt…) I love each of these shades and can definitely see myself making bold eye looks with these. I think this definitely replaces my Urban Decay palette, the one that everyone got in like 2010… The purple one with the metal beads? If you know it you’ll understand why this is replacing it – these colours are stronger, less neon, more wearable. If you don’t know it click *here* to see it.

IMG_9233

Benefit: Gimme Brow – Shade 1 £18.50

So let me start by bragging… I got this for £4… In fact I bought 2. They were in a magazine that was reduced as it was out of season and I just couldn’t help myself. Again, the boyfriend stood there baffled by my excitement, but i can confidently say that i wouldn’t be the only one basically jumping with glee at this bargain! So what do I think of this? Lol it’s ok. Not overly much to write home about. I do prefer this to the dupe I have for it (I will post about this soon, I swear) but I most definitely will not be paying £18.50 for it when I run out. Maybe £10. I’ll do a full review of this, again in an upcoming post, but i’ll say now that it isn’t worth £18.50 – in my opinion.

IMG_9242

Bourjois: Rouge Edition Velvet – 17 Cool Brown £8.99

In a previous post I was talking about how much I love the Rouge Edition Velvet lip creams from Bourjois. Nothing has changed. When I spotted this brown-nude shade in Boots I couldn’t help but pick it up. If you read the previous post (Click Here) then you will know I found the perfect shade in the Maybelline range, but it didn’t seem to have the same lasting power as the Bourjois range. So this is perfect. I’m in LOVE. This fills in my lips – covers the lipscar which i’m not a fan of – and is a perfect nude shade for me. 8/8, Bourjois! I know £9 seems a bit much for a highstreet brand, but this is deffo deffo worth it. You won’t be disappointed!

IMG_9232

Maybelline: Colour Tattoo – 91 Creme de Rose £4.99

So i’ve posted before about my opinion of the colour tattoos from Maybelline – to sum up, I think they’re OK… I have On and On Bronze and Tough as Taupe honestly, the bronze one isn’t one that I often reach for because I prefer a more cream base to my shadows and the Taupe one, I feel is too dark to use as a base, so i’d only really use it for my brows or as a creamy eyeliner. It’s also weird going from Mac’s creamy Paintpots to this stiffer product – you’d only understand if you’ve used both. I really do hesitate when paying for any product from Mac though. I’d have been happy to buy more colour tattoos had they have been selling more of a range in colours, which they seemed to in America. So anyway, when I saw this I was so excited to use it. This is amazing and makes the shadow stay on all day, increasing it’s vibrancy also as the shade is lovely and light. The perfect base for a good price. I am yet to try wearing this by itself though, I imagine it would stay on without needing set with shadows though as it is a thicker consistency.

Hope you enjoyed this post, thanks for reading! Also, thanks for sticking with me, even when I take like 3 month breaks between posts.  I have some in mind though, so expect some good ones soon! Hope this one wasn’t too rambley for you – unless you like that kind of style!

Much love,

Steff x

 

4 thoughts on “A trip to Boots & First Impressions…

Leave a Reply

