Coconut oil – top 5 beauty uses

Coconut oil has been finding itself in more and more products over the recent years. This ranges from shower gels, shampoos and body lotions. Although it’s one thing to have it in products, what about using the raw product itself? Since early 2016 I’ve been using it in a range of different ways, so today i’ll tell you my top 5 uses for it.

  1. Hair

So everyone – and their mother – has heard about this one. This is the ultimate oil to put in dry or damaged hair. After I started bleaching my hair, to be mentioned in an upcoming post, my hair was gagging for a rich moisturising product, who knew it would be something I already had in the cupboard! The vitamins and essential fatty acids naturally found in coconut oil nourish the scalp and help to remove sebum build-up from hair follicles. It will help to strengthen weaker hair and give it a beautiful glossy shine after washing it out.

I used this by scooping some of the product out and warming it between my hands until it goes from the waxy solid to an oily liquid. Then I just apply to the ends of my hair. I then put my hair up into a bun and let it sit over night. When I wake up I would then wash it out with a moisturising shampoo and conditioner. Lovely lovely hair afterwards!

2.Lip Scrub

For this beautiful remedy all you need is some sugar, cinnamon and the coconut oil. Start of my melting your coconut oil, add it to a small container – I used an empty Carmex tub. Then add some sugar, i’d say like a quarter more than you have of the coconut oil. Add in a sprinkle of cinnamon – this is for flavour, but also to make your lips tingle! Mix all together and tadaaa! Just apply this to your lips, use your finger to rub it in and either wipe or lick it off! Your lips will be baby smooth after.

3. Face Mask

For this all you need is honey and coconut oil. Mix together a tablespoon of honey with about a tablespoon of coconut oil. Put this moisturising mask on your face and leave it to sit for about 10-20 minutes. Wash this off with warm water and maybe a cleanser. Your face will feel so soft afterwards!

4. Moisturiser

Over the past few months I have been using coconut oil as a night time moisturiser. Just get a small amount of this and melt it in your hands. Next just apply to your face and rub it in gently. Don’t apply too much that your face is very very oily, just so that it is … a little oily? In the morning it will have absorbed into your skin and it will have a gorgeous smooth glow.

5. Foundation Base

Lastly, I apply a tiny amount of this onto my face when I wake up. I go about the house doing whatever – making breakfast, cleaning my teeth etc. After i’ve given it some time to sink into my skin I would then go and apply my foundation. If it is too slippy however to apply the foundation, just dab your face with a towel. The foundation will go on so smoothly and your face will have such a beautiful, natural glow.

Annnnnnd those are my favourite five uses for coconut oil. Have you got any beauty uses for coconut oil? I’d love to hear about yours!

Thanks for reading,

Steff x

4 thoughts on “Coconut oil – top 5 beauty uses

  1. Sophia Cho says:

    Coconut oil is truly a gift from God. There’s so much it can do and for each use its exceptionally great! Also, please check out my latest post when you get the chance, it’d mean a lot xx

  2. Heidi Hearts says:

    I swear by Coconut Oil! I literally carry a little bottle in my bag as well as having another little bottle in my office drawer, and a big tub at home.

Leave a Reply

