Starting From Scratch Makeup Kit

So let’s say there was a flood in your makeup collection and it ruined alllll your products… or a fire burns down your beauty favourites. After realising you have lost hundreds of pounds worth of makeup – literally –  you go to your local makeup shop and pick up your previous favourites. When hoking through my makeup drawer, deciding which products I would 100% repurchase, I was surprised to find that none were my high end products. So anyway, What did I choose? 

IMG_9244

Eyes:

IMG_9246

I wouldn’t be able to go out without having my brows filled in, so it is a necessity for me to have a brow product that I know matches my brows and can do both a natural brow or a statement one. For this I chose Freedom’s Du0 Brow Powder in soft brown. This is the perfect ashy brown for my medium brown hair. Really easy to work with and is only £3.

When it comes to my eyelids, I do like to wear a bit of eyeshadow everyday. Whether this be a smokey eye, natural looking one or a bold coloured look, I tend to lift this eyeshadow palette from MUA. It is called Undress Me Too and costs £4. This is supposedly a dupe for Urban Decay’s Naked 2 palette. With its high pigmentation and buttery application it is my favourite everyday eyeshadow palette. Each of these shadows are cool toned also. I’ve hit pan on a quarter of this palette too! Would 100% repurchase.

A brow pencil which I always have in my makeup bag is the Rimmel Soft Kohl Kajal Eyeliner Pencil in 061 Jet Black. This is just a bog standard pencil eyeliner. It has a true black pigmentation, stays in place on the tight/water line and is perfect to create a smokey liner look too. This lasts forever and is only £2.99. 

So I have tried a ton of mascaras since I started using makeup. This ranges from the pricey Benefit, No.7, Clinique to the cheaper Natural Collection, Miss Sporty etc. However, one that I have been loving recently, one that seems to overtake all the previous mascaras is one from the brand Essence. This is a slightly lesser known brand, but a good’un nonetheless! This mascara seperates the lashes, gives them amazing length and 10/10 definition. I only use one coat of this, but it is easy enough to build it up also. For £2.79 it doesn’t get much better than that!

FACE:

IMG_9245

So I have to mention my new favourite from Maybelline, the Fit Me Matte & Poreless foundation. This costs £5.99 and is the best foundation i have used. This is so easy to apply, doesn’t go cakey around my nose or forehead, like other foundations do, and it stays on a good amount of the day! I like how this is a natural looking finish, not too drying on the skin. A really great find and a good price too, will definitely be repurchasing when this one finishes!

Miss Sporty have launched a whole new range of products, the Insta Glow range being my favourite. I love this primer. This helps the foundation go on smoother and stay on longer throughout the day. This also is the perfect highlighting product that i’ve tried. It has the most subtle glow, one that isn’t completely OTT. This product costs £3.49 and is definitely worth a try.

I’ve also tried Miss Sporty’s Perfect Stay 10 Hours concealer. I have this in shade 001 light. This is nice and creamy, so is perfect for hiding dark circles or using as a more natural highlight. It stays on all day without creasing and is a good price too at only £2.99. This is the best concealer that i’ve ever used from the drugstore.

MUA is a very hit or miss kinda brand. However, recently a lot more of their products have been getting better and better. This pressed powder, the Skin Define Hydro Powder , which costs £3 , is the best powder that I have in my makeup bag. It is so finely milled, meaning that you only need to dab your brush into this product to get just enough off. This sets makeup perfectly without looking cakey and is perfect for touch ups throughout the day!

Lastly for face products, I was looking through my blushers trying to decide which was my favourite. Which could i use everyday and not need another? The truth was that there are none that I would choose over the rest. So I decided I would repurchase my Makeup Revolution Sugar  & Spice Blusher palette. This ranges from a neutral soft red colour to a bright orangey-peach one. This has 2 highlighters in it also. Perfect to travel with as it has so much choice and a big mirror inside also. For 8 highly pigmented products it costs £6. 

LIPS:

IMG_9247

There are 2 products that I would definitely repurchase. Although I have 3 Mac lipsticks I don’t go for those often, mostly because they were so expensive and I want to save them? So the red that I lean towards every time is Red Essential from Maybelline. This lip crayon is perfect for a neat application and the product itself is really long lasting. It feels good on the lips as it doesn’t feel overly matte or dry. This has a ‘velvet’ finish and costs a small £4.99.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in Cool Brown has been worn everyday since I bought it. It is the perfect natural lip colour for me and I feel like it finishes off a makeup look. This drys matte and stays put on the lips all day. Barely any reapplication throughout the day, but when you are reapplying, the applicator is really easy to use, so there’s no difficulty with applying – even without a mirror! This is a slightly more expensive product, but I say it’s completely worth it for £8.99.

IMG_9248

Lastly, in terms of applicators, there are none that I love more than the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. This is a dupe for the well known and loved beauty blender. However, this only comes in at £5.99! I use this damp to apply my foundation, in a dabbing motion for the best application and I would use it dry to apply powder under my eyes for when I am baking. Really brilliant product that I feel should be in every girl’s makeup bag!

So I hope you enjoyed this post! What would you repurchase if you had no other makeup products? Comment below & share your favourites!

Thanks for reading,

Steff x

 

9 thoughts on “Starting From Scratch Makeup Kit

  1. Sierra Smith says:

    I actually had my house burn down a couple of years ago and lost all of my makeup. One of the first things I did was go to Walgreens and pick up some of my favorite products. It sounds petty, but it was nice to have that kind of normalcy.
    -Sierraxo
    http://www.theglamgala.com

Leave a Reply

