July Makeup Favourites

Annnd i’m back to the monthly favourites! I’ve been really bad with these this year (let’s blame this one the 3 coursework based A levels, eh?). I’ve found some really good beauty items this month but some more towards the end of the month, so i didn’t really see it as fair to include them… look out for them next month. ūüėČ

So, here are my July Gems:

IMG_9281

FACEY

I’ll start off with my face powders. Seen above are my 2 Soap and Glory blushers and my MUA face powder. Left>>Right Love at First Blush, Peach Party, The Body Shop Honey Bronzer & Skin Define Hydro Powder.¬†

Love at First Blush

This shimmery blusher costs¬†¬£11. It has to be said that Soap & Glory is more on the¬†high end side of ‘drugstore’ brands. But. This is the perfect Summer blusher. This is a beautiful shimmery shimmery shimmery blusher… Did I mention that it is shimmery? This is a multi shade one too, so if you want simply the highlighter shade you can choose this with a smaller brush. I however just use a blush brush and sweep it through the whole product. You can use a small amount for a subtle glow of pink, or build it up for that wow-look.

Peach Party

Now I definitely didn’t like this at first. This is neither a blusher nor a bronzer, it’s smack bang in the middle, and at first I didn’t know how to work with this. I’ll admit that I had this unused for about a year/year and a half. I picked it out this Summer though and i am in love with the look that it gives. I wear this only really on my cheeks, not around my face like I would a bronzer. I will do a look with this at some stage and show you how it gives the face a lovely Summer glow. This also costs¬†¬£11.

The Body Shop Honey Bronzer

I use the mirror that this has in it everyday to apply my makeup … just as a side-note. This is perfect for us pale girls to use as a soft and subtle bronzer. It’s matte, but more orangey toned, so doesn’t make a good contour. I put this on my cheeks, forehead and just below my chin to get a nice soft summer-skin look. This costs¬†¬£13.

Skin Define Hydro Powder

I’ve been talking about this powder in quite a few posts recently. But, here I am again! I love this powder. I have finally found the perfect powder for me. This is so finely milled, so you only need a tiny amount on your brush to set your makeup. As I only use a small amount, I never look cakey with this. A perfect product at a perfect, affordable price, only¬†¬£3. Thanks, MUA.

IMG_9295

Matte Foundation Shade 1 Soft Sand

This was the product that brought me back to foundations. This applies so smoothly on my skin, which is weird as it is a matte one – matte foundations tend to emphasise your pores etc. Just checked online, it looks like they have either repackaged/reformulated this, and the price for it now is¬†¬£4. This just gives your skin a natural look and has a buildable coverage. Can’t remember it being able to last all day though.

IMG_9294

Matte & Poreless foundation, 105

I’m in love with this foundation. For only ¬£5.99 this is a complete steal in comparison to other ‘drugstore’ brands’ foundation. ¬†I recently did a full review on this, read it *here* just to avoid repetition.

IMG_9293

Stay Perfect 10 hour 001 light

Miss Sporty are a lesser-known and lesser-raved about brand. A lot of their products are misses, but this one is a complete win. This is¬†¬£2.99. It blends into the skin so easily as it is so creamy. I dab this into my skin using my finger. It’s easy to layer also. Perfect for brightening up the under eyes, just set it with a light powder. One of the only concealer that i’ve found in the drugstore that is pale enough for my skin.

EYES:

IMG_9286

Top>Bottom:

Essence Maximum Definition mascara, Rimmel Black Kohl eyeliner, MUA Matte Black Eyeliner, Freedom Duo Brow Powder, Freedom brow pomade.

IMG_9287

Essence Maximum Definition mascara

The small bristles on this mascara wand hug your lashes and fan them out beautifully. It gives your lashes amazing volume and good length! It’s easy to layer this product as well. Bargain ¬†at only¬†¬£2.79.

IMG_9288

Rimmel Black Kohl eyeliner

This is only¬†¬£2.99 and is honestly one of the best eye pencils i’ve ever used. Once you have set this in place it stays on all day. It has really good pigmentation and is easy to use. It also smokes out nicely. I’d say, the more coats you use of it, the more intense the smokey eye will be. In the above photo, the second swatch is one coat blended with my finger whilst the first swatch is one coat of the liner.

IMG_9289

MUA Matte Black Eyeliner

My friend bought this when we were out shopping, tried it that night, when she was getting ready for our night out, and just didn’t like it. She didn’t like how thick the applicator was, so that’s something to consider if you prefer a slim applicator. I don’t find this to be overly thick, i would say it’s a standard liner applicator. ANYWAY. I love this for how I do my eyeliner. I can do it in one sweep and it’s a very true black which stays on all day. I find that the inner corner can wear off some days though. This doesn’t chip off throughout the day though. Good value for a good product. MUA have really upped their makeup game recently, it has to be said. OH. Also this is a true matte liquid. Bravo, great price, only ¬£2. Above, the first swatch is me leaving on the side whereas the second is me leaning significantly lighter and using the point.

IMG_9290

 Freedom Duo Brow Powder

I have this in the shade¬†soft brown¬†and this sells for only¬†¬£3. If you’re looking for a highly pigmented brow powder then this isn’t the product you’ll like. This has medium pigmentation, which I find makes it really easy to do a soft natural brow, or build it up to a more bold look. I use the lighter shade (left swatch) to fill my brows in and the darker shade (right swatch) to give my brows a more defined shape. This was great for when my hair was blonde, so maybe next time i’m in Superdrug i’ll pick up the darker shade.

IMG_9291

Freedom brow pomade

For¬†¬£5 this is a complete steal as not many drugstore brands are doing a pomade kind of product for brows. This fills the brows in and also gives you a statement look, depending on how you use it. I dip my brush into this product and wipe excess off into the lid. I start off lightly because it is so much easier to add more product than take some off. This sets the brows in place, so no need for a brow gel to do this. Perhaps I’ll do a pomade tutorial, as I did my powder one recently, click *here*¬†to read that.

LIPS:

IMG_9292

Rouge Edition Velvet Cool Brown

Another one that i’ve been raving about a lot recently. Although I only bought this one recently, I must mention it. I’ve been using it almost everyday. It sets into a comfortable matte shade and is my perfect nude shade. It sells for a bit of a pricey ¬£8.99, but it is completely worth it. Bourjois have completely nailed the liquid lipsticks.¬†Read a full review *here* if you’re interested in finding out¬†more about it.

So those are my beauty favourites. Hope you enjoyed these past ¬†14 days where I’ve been talking about makeup items. I’ve really enjoyed a more dedicated blog routine. I have more to come for the next 2 weeks also! I decided at the start of August to post for 28 days straight! I’ve said it in a post now too, so have to stick to it! So keep an eye out for my upcoming posts, there are some good ones! I have three topics, Makeup, which was this week and last week, hair and body. I’ll probably be talking about university and what I plan on bringing with me to it come September time also! ~Wow, what a range of topics you have to talk about, Steff.

So, anyway, what were you loving in July? Comment below, let me know what I should consider picking up!

Lotsa lotsa love,

Steff x

Leave a Reply

