This or That: Felt Tip Liner

After I bought this felt tip liner, from L’oreal a couple of weeks ago, I was  interested to see if it was any better from my previous favourite from Maybelline. The 2 products are the L’oreal Super Liner (£6.99) and the Maybelline Master Precise felt tip (£5.99).

I’ll divide this post up into comparative sections to make it easier to read.

Applicators

Both liners have a slim nib and are easy to use/apply. It is easy to achieve a slim line with both. Both are flexible but not flimsy.

Formula

So I’ve found that the Maybelline one is drier, but this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It is easy to apply without it going messy/transferring onto the eyelid. I find that it does stay on all day, however many seem to find that the longevity of this is poor. In contrast the L’oreal liner is a very wet formula. After reading reviews about this many seem to prefer this to the Maybelline one. Some have written that they set this liner by smudging this in with a brush. However, I have found that the lasting power of this is ok, but it is very poor in terms of how waterproof it is. I would honestly expect all of my liquid liners to be waterproof. Not so much in the sense that you could go swimming with it on, but if you have watery eyes your liner shouldn’t smudge. As I tend to have watery eyes in the morning I find that this just bleeds down my face and looks horrible. I will try the smudging/setting technique next times I use this and report back on whether it works or not.

Longevity 

As mentioned above, the maybelline product seems to last all day for me whereas the L’oreal one wears off pretty quickly as I have watery eyes.

Pigmentation

I’d say the l’oreal one is more black, however the maybelline one is dark also.

I will be giving the l’oreal one more of a chance, but at this time my favourite pen liner is the Maybelline one.

5 thoughts on “This or That: Felt Tip Liner

Leave a Reply

