My opinion vs Youtube

So we all have seen the ‘my drugstore/highstreet favourite makeup products’ videos by our favourite youtubers. So i thought i would watch a few and see if any matched mine/ any that i had a different experience with, so let’s get on with it, eh? (What works for one may not for another)

Image result for real techniques

  • Real Techniques Brushes/Applicators

Have to agree with this one; mostly. The most talked about one was the beauty sponge that they do. I love this, especially when dampened. Applies all foundation in a flawless way!

Image result for rimmel foundations

  • Rimmel Foundations

This i agree with, they are brilliant for paler skins and have a range of different formulas depending on what you want. However, did not like the wake me up foundation – it has literal glitter chunks in it????Not for me, thankyou.

Image result for l'oreal true match foundation

  • L’oreal true match

I bought this ages ago. All that needs to be said is that I finished it, but haven’t and probably won’t be in a rush to repurchase it. It was ok, just didn’t overly impress me. Too liquid-y. Feel it highlighted dry areas around my nose also.

Image result for bourjois healthy mix foundation

  • Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation

Definitely loved this one. Lovely smell, relatively cheap and sat beautifully on my skin. Only comes in a few shades though, but matches mine nicely. Nice glowey finish on the skin. This will be one that i will buy again, soon, soon.

Image result for collection lasting perfection concealer

  • Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer

I just haven’t had the same experience most seem to have had with this one. I just found this really cakey, didn’t blend whatsoever and didn’t match my skintone. Perhaps it has changed its formula – i have seen it does a lighter shade now, so may try this one again?

Image result for sleek contour kit

  • Sleek contour palette

Nope, too dark for pale skin, doesn’t blend at all. Highlighter is clumpy and doesn’t do much?? Nope nope nope. V disappointed in this.

Image result for Bodyshop bronzer

  • The Body Shop Bronzer

Have to agree with this one, really enjoyed this one for my pale skin, nice and light. Will definitely be using this again over the summer months as it is a bronzer, not a contour; if you get me.

Image result for sleek eyeshadow palette

  • Sleek eyeshadow palletes

This i have to agree with. The pigmentation is so nice. So buttery and easy to blend in. A bit expensive though, but if you have the money deffo worth it. Think they do a good few unique shades too that you wouldn’t find elsewhere! I really like their shimmery and matte shades. Reallyyyyy niiiice.

Image result for maybelline brow

  • Maybelline brow pencils

I used to agree with this, it was my first brow product that i used. I think that i’ve just started to find better products since. I find this a bit too waxy for me now.

Image result for l'oreal felt tip eyeliner

  • L’oreal felt tip liners 

Nooooooooo. For me this smudges everywhere! Not at all waterproof, impossible to have anything stay on my lids personally. It has great pigmentation, great nib and is v easy to use, just the formula completely lets it down for me. Maybe it is just the one that i used though, perhaps there are other l’oreal felt tip liners which are more waterproof.

Image result for Barry m lip liner

  • Barry M Lip Liners

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas. I love the lipliner that came with the lipkit duo thing that i got a while back. It is so creamy and easy to use. One of my most-reached for lip liners. They’re cheap as well, definitely agree with this one!

Related image

  • Rimmel Lip Liners

Has to be my favourite of the lip liners that i have. I love their shade range and the creaminess of the products. Love the twist up liners and also the sharpening ones. 100% recommend these and prefer them the the mac ones also.

Image result for kate moss lipsticks

  • Rimmel Kate Moss Lipsticks

I’m Neutral on these actually. Some i like, others i think are just meh. Lipsticks are very personal i think though. Depends what shade, finish etc. you’re looking for. There have been a good few that i just didn’t like at all; the shimmery ones, and some that i lovvveeee; the brown/neutral (shade 48) toned ones. Although they’re cheap enough, i just am not overly drawn to rimmel for lipsticks.

Image result for Nyx matte lipcream

  • NYX Matte Lip Creams

yenno what, i’m not overly fussed. I only have 2; a berry red and a brown matte. They sit ok on the lips, don’t overly fully set, a factor which i don’t like. The shade range is massive though, so you will probably find something that tickles your fancy. Just not really the brand that i would go to for liquid lipstick though.  I hear the Sand Storm liquid lippy is good though, so might try it out.

 

So I hope you enjoyed this kind of post? Just thought it would be cool to hear a range of opinions on products. Are there any of these which you’ve used/have an opinion on? Please comment below! Good to hear a range of opinions!

Thanks for reading,

Steph x

 

 

4 thoughts on “My opinion vs Youtube

  1. I agree with you on the NYX matte lip creams. They are cool, but surely not my 1st choice for liquid lipstick. I own 3 (2 browns and 1 berry) and this one of the few drugstore drugstore lipsticks that I don’t get an allergic reaction from

Leave a Reply

